Send tip

Category: Gaming

World of Warcraft Survival Guide for Newbies (Part 1)

Written on December 26, 2010 by Kristoff Jones

2 persons

Welcome young adventurer to the rest of your life. The waters are dangerous to tread, the lands are in discord, and the air burns with fiery anger. Whatever your friend told you about the game, that was yesterday. This is a completely new journey where you and veterans alike will take together.

Welcome to . You are reading this right now probably because of two things: one is that you’re interested in the game and are gathering enough information if you should go for it or you’ve already bought it but have no idea how to begin. Well this write-up will try to box up all the information you need to jumpstart your experience in the most popular MMORPG in history and beyond. Lok’tar Ogar, Ishnu’alah, For the Horde, For the Alliance.

What do you need to have first?

In playing World of Warcraft or simply put , hundreds or even thousands of beginners or interested gamers mistaken that upon buying the expansion sets such as Burning Crusade, Wrath of the Lich King, or Cataclysm will instantaneously allow you to play the game without having the predecessors. You need to install the original World of Warcraft game before you can play Burning Crusade; Burning Crusade before playing Wrath of the Lich King; and Wrath of the Lich King before playing Cataclysm. I advise you buy the first two before proceeding with the 3rd and 4th expansion.

You also need a account which allows you to play the game along with millions of subscribers worldwide. World of Warcraft requires a monthly fee if you want to keep on playing. It’s really cheap though so you don’t need to worry much.

Starting the Game

The moment you log on to World of Warcraft game, you’ll need to choose what server you’d like to playon. There’s basically 3 types of servers which indicates the game mode, and another 3 which indicates the region you’ll be playing in. The 3 game modes are: Normal, PvP, and Role-Playing.

Normal mode allows you to casually play the game without the risk of getting killed by enemy players. Though you can still engage in combat as long as the terms have been met. Normal mode is also known as PvE or Player vs Environment.

PvP or Player vs Player on the other hand still has the major elements of Normal mode, except you’ll be at the mercy of enemy players 24/7. If you’re a beginner, I strongly advise you to not go here yet because it’ll only lead to frustrations then rage quits.

Roleplaying involves a different aspect of gaming as you will be deeply involved in the story of the game. Though you need to follow strict rules like being in character if you wanna play.

Once you’ve chosen your server, it’s time to choose your toon. World of Warcraft gives you a pool of options on what character you’d like to be.

First you’ll be choosing your race. Your race will dictate where your starting zone will be and which lore or story you’ll most likely follow, you can play a blood-thirsty but noble Orc or xenophobic but wise Night-Elf and many more. You’ll notice that the races are divided into 2 factions, the Alliance and the Horde. In World of Warcraft, the story involves a recurring tensions between these two factions as you vie for supremacy in deciding the fate of Azeroth.

Once you’re done with the race, it’s time to choose your class. There are 8 classes available in WoW namely: Warrior, Shaman, Paladin, Priest, Mage, Warlock, Hunter, Rogue, and Death Knight (only available in Wrath of the Lich King). However, certain classes are not available to certain races. Each class has a set of unique abilities that can either do damage, defend, or heal. The character selection screen displays the description of each class, so read them well and choose wisely.

After that, you can edit the look of your character and give it a unique name. Just press ‘Create’ then ‘Enter Realm’ on the next screen. Congratulations, you’re in the game.
The moment you enter, you’ll be hearing a couple of lores about the race you’ve chosen. You can skip this if you want by pressing ‘Esc’, but part of the World of Warcraft experience is the story, so it’s best if you take some time to have yourself filled in on what’s happening.

Your Journey and Questing

The best way to progress in World of Warcraft is through quests. Quests can be obtained by clicking on NPCs with Exclamation Points on the top of their heads. Once you talked to them, you’ll be informed of some situation and will be given a task to complete. In a nutshell, most of the quests require you to kill a certain amount of monsters, gather a number of items/reagents or visit another NPC. Once you’ve met the requirements, go back to the quest giver to complete the task. In exchange for your measley yet valiant efforts, you’ll be provided with some coins, probably a gear, and XP points.

XP points allow you to level and reach harder, yet more fulfilling, quests, adventures, and content. Other than questing, you can also receive XP by killing off enemies.

Stay tuned for more of World of Warcraft as we discuss Gearing and Talent Points next time. Until then, keep on playing, or buy the game now!


Related articles


View all